DUI & Drunk Driving

Skilled Lebanon DUI Lawyer

Representing clients facing DUI charges in Nashville, Mt. Juliet, Cookeville, and throughout Tennessee

Driving under the influence (DUI) violations in Lebanon and other middle Tennessee towns can result in stiff penalties and sentences that can destroy your driving record. Even first-time offenders who are convicted of a drunk driving incident are required to pay to get an ignition interlock installed in their vehicle. It is wise for you to seek out skilled DUI lawyers to represent you for any type of DUI arrest.

Rather than trying to wade into the chaos and confusion of the judicial system, it is vital you engage the services of an experienced Lebanon drunk driving defense attorney from the law firm of Lowery, Lowery & Cherry PLLC. With more than 70 years of combined legal experience helping clients who have been charged with DUI, we are dedicated to protecting your rights throughout the entire legal process. You are welcome to schedule a consultation with our criminal defense lawyers today.

An overview of Tennessee DUI laws

A conviction for DUI can have terrible consequences in your life, for your freedom, your finances, and your future. You will face penalties if this is your first offense, but if you have prior convictions on your record, the negative consequences only become increasingly devastating.

When an individual is pulled over by law enforcement because they are driving unsafely or appear to be impaired they  can be charged with driving under the influence in Tennessee.

Testimonials

Wonderful Job
"Jeff Cherry and his staff did a wonderful job on my Son’s case. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Mr. Cherry. Thank you, Mr. Cherry."

Client

What is the difference between DUI and “DUI per se”?

Every state in the country has passed what are known as "per se" or "unlawful blood alcohol content" DUI laws. This created the 0.08 BAC standard throughout the country. The per se drunk driving law essentially means that if a person registers a 0.08% blood alcohol concentration through blood or breathalyzer test, this is sufficient evidence to find them guilty of DUI.

The government may have trouble proving that the individual's ability to drive safely was impaired – the per se statute allows a jury to presume impairment by virtue of the blood alcohol content. To prevail against per se DUI charges, your skilled Lebanon DUI defense lawyer must discredit the results of the blood or breath test results.

What is Tennessee’s implied consent law?

If a law enforcement officer has pulled you over on suspicion of drunk driving, and subsequently placed you under the arrest, the officer is going to ask you to submit to a chemical test to measure your blood alcohol concentration. Under Tennessee's implied consent law, you are required to submit to this test. The penalties for refusing to submit to a chemical test include having your license revoked for one year if this is a first offense, and a second offense will get a two-year revocation. If a drunk driving offense has resulted in a crash which causes injury or death to another person and you refuse a chemical test, your license can be revoked for two to five years in addition to the other criminal penalties.

What are the penalties for DUI in Tennessee?

Penalties and consequences for DUI offenses in Lebanon, TN increase by the number of previous offenses, and include the following.

First DUI Offense

  • Jail: 48 hours up to one year
  • Minimum jail time of one week for .20 BAC or more
  • Fine: From $350 to $1,500
  • License suspension: One year

Other Possible Penalties

  • Ignition interlock device (IID) installed at your expense
  • Community service
  • Restitution to anyone suffering injury or loss
  • Child endangerment penalties (for passengers under 18)
  • Alcohol and drug treatment program

Second Tennessee DUI Offense

  • Jail: 45 days up to one year
  • Fine: From $600 to $3,500
  • License suspension: Two years
  • Ignition interlock device
  • Alcohol drug and treatment program

Other Possible Penalties

  • Vehicle subject to seizure or forfeiture
  • Child endangerment penalties (if passenger under 18)
  • Community service
  • Restitution to anyone suffering injury or loss

Third Tennessee DUI Offense

  • Jail: 120 days up to one year
  • Fine: From $1,100 to $10,000
  • License suspension: Six years
  • Alcohol and drug treatment program
  • Ignition interlock device

Other Possible Penalties

  • Vehicle subject to seizure/forfeiture
  • Child endangerment penalties (if passenger under 18)
  • Community service
  • Restitution to anyone suffering injury or loss

Fourth and subsequent DUI offenses are Class E felonies, punishable by up to six years in prison.

You can learn more about what to expect from our DUI Frequently Asked Questions page.

The life consequences of a DUI are severe even beyond the jail time, fines, and fees. Your driver’s license will be suspended, and you will be required to participate in a course about DUI at your own expense. You must also take on the costs of an IID – which can run into the thousands of dollars – and you may be required to forfeit your vehicle for a second or subsequent DUI conviction.

A dedicated Lebanon criminal defense attorney from Lowery, Lowery & Cherry, PLLC is ready to fight for your rights today. Whether you are facing your first offense, have been charged with a repeat offense, or need assistance with an MVA hearing, we are ready and able to help.

Contact a skilled Lebanon DUI defense lawyer for a consultation

If you have been arrested for DUI in Lebanon or surrounding areas, don’t hesitate to talk to an experienced lawyer. Talk to the experienced Lebanon DUI defense attorneys of Lowery, Lowery & Cherry, PLLC for knowledgeable guidance on how to navigate these types of charges. We serve clients in Nashville, Mt. Juliet, Cookeville, or elsewhere in Tennessee. To set up a consultation, call 615-454-9404 or fill out our contact form.